The staff and board members of the Nipissing Transition House (NTH) observed a meaningful ceremony for the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women, Wednesday.

The ceremony paid tribute to the 14 women whose lives were taken by gender-based violence 28 years ago at l’École Polytechnique de Montréal.

The NTH had 14 plaques made which included a photo and short biography of each woman lost that day. During the ceremony, staff and board members, as well as women from the community approached the display to light a candle and place a white rose under each woman’s plaque as her name was read out and honoured.

Janine Lafreniere (Executive Director, NTH), Brigitte Lebel (Board Chair, NTH), Peggy O’Connor (Ministry Representative, MCSS) Photo credit: supplied

The ceremony included bursary award presentations from the IODE – Dr. Herbert A. Bruce Chapter, from the Marsha Greenfield Bursary, and from the Nipissing Transition House Board of Directors. The bursaries were awarded to students who have been impacted by violence against women and are pursuing post-secondary education.