Chris Mayne has been elected the new Chair of the Board of Directors of the North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA).

At the NBMCA’s annual general meeting on Wednesday, besides the Mayne election, Powassan Councillor Dave Britton was elected Vice Chair.

The Board also elected Councillors Shelly Belanger of Papineau-Cameron, Dean Grant of Calvin, Loren Mick of Mattawa and Dave Mendicino of North Bay to the Board’s Executive Committee.

Chair Mayne and Vice Chair Britton are automatic appointees to the Executive Committee.

The Source Protection Authority (SPA) Board of Directors also held its AGM Wednesday, electing Chris Mayne as Chair and Dave Britton as Vice Chair. The SPA oversees the Drinking Water Source Protection Program for the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area.

The North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (NBMCA) was founded in 1972 by the Province of Ontario and the NBMCA’s 10 member municipalities. A non-profit organization, the NBMCA works closely with the public to balance human needs with the environmental needs of the region’s watershed. The NBMCA is one of 36 Conservation Authorities who are members of Conservation Ontario.