Listen Live
Listen Live
HomeNewsLocal fire ban issued across the area

Local fire ban issued across the area

The City of North Bay and surrounding municipalities have issued a total fire ban for the area.

Officials say during the ban, no fires of any type are permitted at any time including for cooking and warmth.

The communities affected include:

North Bay, Municipality of Callander, Nipissing Township, Municipality of Powassan, Municipality of East Ferris, Municipality of West Nipissing, McMurrich-Monteith Township, Laurier Township, Twp. of Chisholm, Armour Township, Ryerson Township, Village of Burk’s Falls, Village of Sundridge, Township of Strong, Township of Joly, Town of Temagami, Township of Perry, Community of Phelps, Bonfield, South River and Machar, Port Loring, Loring and surrounding communities

With the hot temperatures, dry conditions and the threat of fires across the country, officials say a total fire ban is needed to ensure the health and safety of our communities. 

The local ban runs alongside the recently issued Restrict Fire Zone from the province, which includes most of the northeast.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading